AFC/NFC title games: 1 star out but Lewis will play 1 more

AFC/NFC title games: 1 star out but Lewis will play 1 more

(NHHM) NFL conference championship games Sunday sent the Ravens and the 49ers to the Super Bowl. Ray Lewis of the Ravens and Tony Gonzalez of the Falcons have said this season is probably their last. Lewis will play in the Super Bowl but Gonzalez may have played his last game.

Winning on Sunday meant more than just a trip to the Super Bowl for two NFL stars. Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis and Atlanta Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez have both said this season will probably be their last.

Both also played Sunday in conference championship games. While Gonzalez and the Falcons saw their season end with a loss to the San Francisco 49ers, Baltimore’s win over the New England Patriots gives Lewis and the Ravens one more game to play.

The Ravens beat the Patriots 28-13.

RELATED: Flacco leads Ravens to Super Bowl

Lewis’ retirement was unexpectedly delayed last week when the Ravens upset the Denver Broncos in overtime. This latest upset over the Patriots grants the longtime linebacker one more chance for Super Bowl glory.

“I always said to myself I would know when it’s time,” Lewis told the Kansas City Star. “And I knew that every sacrifice I made from the time I hurt myself was to get back with my team to make one last push. I told my teammates, ‘Everything I am giving you is so your career can go on.’ One day, my career is definitely going to end, and for the ride to keep going the way it’s going, it’s just awesome.”

In his career, Lewis has more than 1,500 total tackles and more than 40 sacks.

While Lewis will retire with at least one Super Bowl win to his credit, Sunday’s loss likely means Gonzalez will retire without a ring.

The 49ers beat the Falcons 28-24, potentially ending Gonzalez’s storied career. According to NFL.com, Gonzalez has 1,242 receptions, 103 touchdowns and more than 14,000 yards in his 15-year career. In Sunday’s matchup, he had eight receptions, 78 yards and a touchdown.

Gonzalez said earlier he is “97 percent sure” he’s going to retire at the end of this season, USA Today reported.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “AFC/NFC title games: 1 star out but Lewis will play 1 more

Leave a comment